Inspiration

What Annoys Me as a Writer, and How I Plan to Overcome Them

Tavian Jean-Pierre
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Nik Shuliahin on Unsplash

I am currently an Aerospace Engineering student who found joy in writing in 2019. It will soon be two years since I embarked on writing my first ever book and almost a year since I started my blog.

Despite undertaking an Engineering degree, I have always found philosophy and psychology intriguing subjects. So, I spend much of my time using insights from them to inspire others to live more purposeful lives.

The Pain of Writing

Although I still find writing as one of the most powerful ways to impact another person, there are many stumbling blocks I have come across. I have not been writing for as long as many writers. But even they agree on some of the pains I experience today.

The first is the lack of resources to learn how to create. I understand that creativity is individualistic and relative to each person. However, even as engineers, we have a process and formal guidelines to produce a profitable product.

As writers, our finished product is our writing. And from what I can see, there are no guidelines for new writers to follow to ease them into the craft. I spent six months of writing rubbish on my blog until I found something that worked for me.

--

--

Tavian Jean-Pierre
ILLUMINATION

Founder of the Better Conversations Podcast | Inspiring a better future | Thought leadership in the topics of innovation, economics, and entrepreneurship