What Can We Learn From Breaking Down Danny Forest’s Headlines?

Analyzing the analyzer’s 2020 articles

Martin Andersson Aaberge
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Alina Vilchenko from Pexels

You have probably seen some of Danny’s breakdowns. The orange images with interesting headlines about headlines. He has blessed the writing community with a thorough analysis of writers — Top writers and the everyday writer. No one can hide from Danny Forest.

In his analyses, he tries to capture what makes a headline stand out. Another interesting aspect of a story is the response it gets from the readers. We don’t have much to go by, but we can use claps and responses as metrics for our analysis.

After I did my initial analysis of Danny, I arranged a call so we could talk about my findings. Thankfully, Danny accepted and we had a long chat about what we have found. (Notice the color of his chair)

Discussing my findings with Danny’s own stats

Time to analyze

I already have an analysis tool that I have used on many writers so all I need is a CSV of Danny’s stories. I normally gather the data from around 100 stories. In Danny’s case, I have 93 articles ranging from April to November 2020.

Read time

--

--

Martin Andersson Aaberge
ILLUMINATION

CG supervisor with 20 years of experience in the Animation- and VFX industry. UX, Writing, Programming, Productivity. martinaaberge.collaboration@gmail.com