What Can You Do With A Philosophy Degree?

Other than Teaching Philosophy (From A Personal Experience)

Nino Padilla
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by note thanun on Unsplash

INTRODUCTION

“There is only one thing philosophers fear, the job market. I recently saw this on a Facebook meme and burst into laughter because I found it so relatable. Back then, as we were nearing graduation day, my classmates and I were discussing jobs we could qualify for with our philosophy degree.

Philosophy graduates are commonly passionate about teaching, and would like to become educators. This applies to most of my classmates. When we graduated, a lot of them ventured into education and secured their teaching roles quickly. I, on the other hand, wanted to do something else. I didn’t know exactly. I only knew that I didn’t want to become a teacher and I wanted to work in a corporate setup.

I wanted to work in a company to see the actual day-to-day lives of people. Having a 9–5 job, dining out and getting drinks after work, and finding meaning in your job because it serves people. Also, I wanted to understand how corporations work. What is their product or service? How is it beneficial to their customers? How are the employees structured and how are the resources allocated? I was motivated by my curiosity.

--

--

Nino Padilla
ILLUMINATION

I grapple with life's most important questions to learn how to live.