Wow! Did you know that …

What Did You Say? I’m Sorry, I Didn’t Hear You

How to respond when someone who is hard of hearing asks you to repeat yourself

Jacquelyn Lynn
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readDec 30, 2020

--

Graphic courtesy of the author

There’s a hearing aid commercial that’s been on the air for a while where the son says, “I love you, Dad.” The dad responds with, “What?” The son raises his voice and repeats himself. And the dad still doesn’t hear him.

Then the dad talks about how much his world changed for the better after he got the particular brand of hearing aid being advertised.

Recently I had my hearing checked. (Thanks to the wonderful team at Orlando Ear, Nose & Throat Associates, especially Dr. Michael Bibliowicz and Kelly Bilbruck.) Yes, too much loud rock ‘n roll music when I was younger has taken its toll. But the reason I’m sharing this is the audiologist taught me something that made me say, “Wow!”

If someone doesn’t hear you clearly and asks you to repeat yourself, don’t raise your voice, change your words.

Graphic by Jerry D Clement, used with permission

--

--

Jacquelyn Lynn
ILLUMINATION

Inspirational author, business ghostwriter. Need some great quotes? Get “A Book of Proverbs: Wisdom of the Ages” free. Download at CreateTeachInspire.com/wisdom