A red figurine thinking about “what is inflammation?”
Source: Pxfuel

What Do Health Experts Mean By “Inflammation”?

We frequently use this technical term in daily conversations, but do we really understand it?

Published in
6 min readApr 19, 2020

--

Many of us might have heard of the word “inflammation” from doctors and other health professionals. I remembered when I was a child, I used to have a frequent sore throat. The doctor told me I had an inflammation due to an infection. I always hate to have a sore throat as it is so uncomfortable, I have difficulties in swallowing, a swollen throat, produce lots of mucus and I am constantly in need of water to soothe my sore throat. Similarly, when we have a small cut, or when we have mosquito bites, we have inflammation on our skin.

4 pillars of inflammation.
Source: Frontiers in Young Mind; Licence: CC BY 4.0

Recently, we heard conversations that food can cause inflammation. Health professionals say these are ultra-processed food. Wait a minute, I never feel uncomfortable, I never feel pain and burning sensation, and I never see any…

--

--