Leadership & Responsability

What determines our influence in the lives of others?

Diego Ruiz
ILLUMINATION

--

In the last couple of months, I’ve had the possibility of working in different projects, where I was in the position of advising the leaders from some project groups. That got me thinking about today’s misconceptions about the meaning of being in a leader’s position, and the way that we are supposed to take charge of that position.

So I decided to write my perspective about what being a leader means, and how I like to think about our duty in the development of the people that are with us in our projects.

What does it mean to transform someone?

Photo by Jaime Lopes on Unsplash

In my opinion, our capacity to influence and transform others depends on our capacity to inspire. Well, at this moment I’m sure you’re thinking something related to how vague is this concept, and I agree with you; The concept of being inspiring to others is incredibly volatile and frequently misused, for that reason I’m going to talk first about what isn’t to inspire, so we can be on the same page about what do I meant when I said that our capacity to transform is determined by our capacity to inspire.

--

--

Diego Ruiz
ILLUMINATION

I believe in the power of stories, they can change everything, from our point of view to the way we live. I’m here to write about the things that move us.