What does Pain make you?

Haroon Qureshi
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readMay 3, 2023

Dissecting the true nature of Pain…
What can we learn from our suffering?

The Dark Wall of Pain — A sketch by the author

Pain.

A vicious entity. Rarely ever defeated, rather what defeats us.

A dark wall, seldom insurmountable. Simply gazing at its haunting structure, a baneful shadow that basks over our soul, can brutally squish our insides. How we tend to vainly battle it only for the wall to remain un-budged, un-smudged.

This Pain snatches away everything. The breath of our lungs, the moisture in our eyes, the strength of our muscles, and the will of our lives. Still, the sky roars into a storm as this wall pummels us down into sheer defeat, shattering our dear senses apart.

Whether it strikes the body or the mind, blinding it can be the instant it slams. Though our bodies have the fortunate feature of self-healing their superficial wounds, the mind isn’t as blessed.

The Pain of losing someone loved, of our hopes and dreams falling apart, of our trust being broken into shreds, of the unfairness our life renders onto our path, can often take a lifetime to heal from, a lifetime that most of us may never have.

So, it remains.

A dark wall, insurmountable. A vicious entity. Rarely ever defeated, rather what defeats us.

Defeated and engrossed in such obstinate realities of Pain, I sat to ask: “Why did I ever receive such brutal pain? Why do we all? Would I have become the person I am today without going through it all? The mind and body-altering pain! Would I ever be me without this blistering agony?”

“No,” rose the definitive answer deep within my chest.

Yes, what doesn’t break makes us stronger, but what makes us unique is the distinct pain our lives hurl at us; and how it alters our inner selves fundamentally.

Pain changes us more often than not. Why?

Because it is meant to.

Do we deserve all the hurt we get? Not surely. But does each new thump of Pain allows us an opportunity to grow? Absolutely!

Pain is painful yet needful at times, as what doesn’t heal only becomes an extension of us. The bludgeoning it ensues shapes our very lives into what they have to be, into what they are today.

This pain crumbles you, twists your insides, shoves you deep into discomfort, harasses, even bullies you unabatingly, and forces you to your bloody knees, but in the end, what does Pain make you?

A Human.

The Dark Wall of Pain — A sketch by the author

Author’s note

I am an expansive writer, rather all writers are at some level, expanding on a single thought like escaping branches of a willow.

On a given day, I would adore dedicating pages upon pages to the riveting topic of Pain and the value it plays in shaping our lives. But something came over me. A voice demanded change, and I challenged myself with a new writing format. A concise one-page thought, I would call it. Shortly enveloped, easy to digest, still deepening on impact.

I aim to give my best each time pen touches paper, but this best can’t always be achieved in pure isolation. Your help is needed.

All good work is made great through the process of constructive feedback. For this, I would urge my readers to provide me with it, especially when I step into something new and construct a never-before-made structure.

Did you enjoy reading this one-page thought? Could you relate to it? Did you learn something from it? Would you like to read more such writings? Could I improve? I would love to hear your valuable thoughts.

Do not be shy and let me know!

And I hope that the Pain life stomps you with daily… changes you emphatically, deepens your muscles, irons your insides, and undeniably, makes you Human.

Thank you so much for reading!

I hope this unique post instills grave thought amid my readers and makes one realize the deepening philosophies that seldom hide under the mundane-est of things in our daily lives.

I wish you all to stay safe and have a great life ahead. Please leave your claps and thoughts in the comments below. I would really appreciate it!

Since I am not eligible for Partner Program, I cannot make money directly through this platform even after well-crossing 100 followers. If you wish to support me, please visit my Ko-fi page and buy me a coffee :)

https://ko-fi.com/haroon_qureshi

For knowing the full details of why I am still not eligible, please read the below post:

You may also like:

And if you wish to read more articles like these, do follow my publication; Thoughts of a Human.

See you in the next post!

--

--

Haroon Qureshi
ILLUMINATION

Aspiring author // I write articles on emotions, mental well-being, philosophies, and life in general. Also, I love writing thought-provoking short stories!