What Does “Success” Mean To You in Our Contemporary World?

Reflections On A Life
ILLUMINATION
Published in
5 min readDec 27, 2023

--

“Success” is a term that has become ambiguous in our culture.

christian-buehner unsplash

The assumption that having a lot of money makes a person successful is something we see all the time in media depictions of opulent lifestyles and belongings. However, is this the essence of success? It’s crucial to go further and investigate the actual definition of success in a capitalist, money-driven culture. Success is complicated, and my article seeks to deconstruct that complexity by questioning accepted ideas and illuminating some intangible qualities that exist beyond monetary goals.

The Role of Worldly Aims in How We Evaluate Our Achievements

It would be a mistake to ignore the impact of materialistic goals on how we define success in today’s society. Advertising that makes me believe that my life will be better once I buy the newest electronic gadget, clothing style, or exotic car is all around me all the time. These external measures of success are now trying to shape my hopes and dreams. People try to convince me that if I amass a lot of money and possessions, I will finally be happy and fulfilled. This narrow definition of success ignores the real and long-term benefits to one’s well-being and growth.

--

--

Reflections On A Life
ILLUMINATION

Reader, thinker, writer, lover of the blues, and jazz. Retired commercial photographer