What Happened to Nike?

Jackson Dylan
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readSep 4, 2024
Photo by wu yi on Unsplash

Nike became a staple in the sneaker and apparel industry in the early 80s after signing future NBA legend Michael Jordan to a shoe deal.

From then on out it was smooth sailing. It seemed like every big name athlete signed shoe deals with Nike. Everybody wanted to get the latest Air Jordans or the latest Nike apparel.

Until now.

Nike stock is down 48% over the last 3 years. It’s plummeting because of weak sales due to its competitors finally taking over.

Nike has always been on top, whether it’s sneakers or sports apparel, and the sneaker company people prefer in the U.S.. But in my opinion, Nike has lost its innovation, which is probably why people are exploring other options.

Adidas’s stock prices are soaring this year after being the little brother to Nike for decades.

I am a huge Nike fan. My first pair of expensive shoes were Air Jordan 1s, and the only shoes I bought since have been Nikes. But this year I decided to buy my first pair of Adidas Forums.

They were the best shoes I’ve ever worn.

Just like that, I found myself wearing more Adidas items. I couldn’t help but notice that everything that Adidas made felthigher quality and worth the price.

Which leads me to my next point.

In a world where companies are innovating,Nike still relies on re-releases of the Nike Dunks, Air Force 1s, and Air Jordans.

Adidas is innovating, and are always coming up with new items, like the Adidas Forums I mentioned above.

The first Nike product I saw that made me realize that they didn’t have anything new to offer was the Nike Tech.

Nike Tech is a sub-sportswear brand that includes sweatshirts, pants, and track jackets for example.

Let’s about the sweatshirt.

It’s just a sweatshirt. But because it has the Nike logo, it retails for $145, Which is absurd

Nike’s failure to innovate is probably why their stock is dropping and other companies are starting to surpass them.

As much as I love Nike,If they don’t start to make new products that are actually worth the price they will continue to fall and might not be able to recover.

--

--