What Happened to Sunday?

Akshay Ravi
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readJul 2, 2020

--

Photo by MI PHAM on Unsplash

I have been living a virtual life for quite some time, but the gravity of which has further sucked me in, since the pandemic has started. Life for me happens at midnight when I find comfort in the sofa at the television room, head rested on a couple of stacked pillows, a bedsheet pulled over my body, and flickering colours from the television glow the room like fireflies. Throw-in a few cans of beer and some chips to munch, and I would call it a perfect night.

But somewhere in mind is a feeling, something good, about the beauty of waiting. A different era, where less was more. Television was all about a single channel, and the wait was all about the Sunday movie. Sunday! Do Sundays matter anymore? Sundays are not exclusive now. They don’t feel special. It’s just another day without work.

Sundays were about getting tanned, collecting bruises on arms and legs, getting dirt on t-shirt and trouser, running to friend’s house to gulp in the chilled water from the refrigerator. Sundays were about brotherhood, sportsmanship, bonding, winning, and losing. Sundays were lessons, which were far superior to the lessons learned on the weekdays.

Sundays were about comics. My family subscribed two of them for me, which would arrive on Sundays. Sundays were about the beauty of waiting for them, the curiosity to find the rest of the story, the eagerness to put the…

--

--

Akshay Ravi
ILLUMINATION

I sometimes revisit my writings, and I am almost always disappointed. But if you still may, you will stumble upon mostly short fiction, technology otherwise