What Happened to That Book You’ve Been Meaning To Write?

Four steps to making your book a reality.

Linda Kowalchek/L.K. Smithe
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Laura Chouette on Unsplash

Writing a book is a popular item on many people’s bucket lists. Lots of them start writing their book and then realize that it’s not that easy, so they move onto something easier like skydiving, running a marathon, or climbing a mountain. I’m kidding, of course.

On a personal note, I’ve been meaning to write a bunch of books. Everything from a compilation of humorous essays about life to a memoir to a children’s book: but, in keeping with my usual lack of follow through, I haven’t written any.

So, I sat down and gave some serious thought to what I need to do to change the current path of no progress that I’m on and accomplish something that I’m proud of and benefit others.

Here are the changes that I need to make to add “author” to my list of accomplishments. These changes will help you too if writing a book or books is on your to-do list.

I will deal with writing only, not publishing, marketing, and all of that other stuff. The goal is to get moving and get your book written.

First, define the book that you want to write. If you have multiple books that you want to write, pick one, just one, not more than that.

--

--

Linda Kowalchek/L.K. Smithe
ILLUMINATION

Writing about real life. Proponent of the passive voice and bringing “that” back. Member of the typewriter generation. Reach me at Linda.kowalchek@gmail.com