Weak Boundaries Making Your Life Miserable? – Here Is What To Do About it

Or why saying yes to life means saying no to Narcs

Tom C
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Brooke Cagle on Unsplash

We all respect people with strong boundaries. It’s something we recognise in people at once. We see it in the way they move and talk. It’s as if they are living in a different universe from our own.

They have come to the conclusion that their right to assert their boundaries is more important than people-pleasing and worrying about what others think.

We watch in wonder and awe as we know that to be like them would overwhelm us with shame and embarrassment.

If like me, you are one of the mere mortals who have trouble with boundaries and asking for what you want, read on.

I am on a path that seems to be yielding results and below I outline exactly what tactics I am using to change. But first things first we need to get to a place of…

Acceptance

We first accept that our boundaries have holes. We can then choose to make a determined effort to plug those gaps the best way we can. —Before I used to come away from interactions angry that I had allowed my boundaries to be tested or even violated. I would say yes to things that I didn’t want to do and I would find it very hard to deny…

--

--