COOKING LESSONS

What Heaven Tastes Like

Sheri Jacobs
ILLUMINATION

--

And how you can experience it too

Who knew making blintzes was a one-way ticket to gustatory heaven on earth?
Homemade blintzes with peach compote — delish! (Image by author)

Before I tasted heaven, I heard it:

“Mom, I need to make blintzes for a class project. Wanna help me make them?

Heaven is the sound of your teenager asking if you want to spend time with him.

Of course, I know he wanted the help. Of course I’m aware that he could be thinking of doing a million other things more fun than spending a Sunday afternoon in the kitchen with his mom.

How we got here isn’t as important as that this miracle of request had landed on my maternal plate.

(Pun unabashedly intended;-)

What Heaven Tastes Like

There’s no need to leave one’s mortal coil to experience heaven while still contributing our share of carbon dioxide.

Heaven is a mental state. For each of us, heaven will be experienced differently.

Heaven is a teenager asking to…

--

--

Sheri Jacobs
ILLUMINATION

Author, Educator, Actor www.sheri-jacobs.com Author of children’s book DREAM WRITE (pen name, Kiss) and the non-fiction book, THE FRIENDSHIP DIET. VO/film actor