What I Know After Owning the Byrna Pepperball Launcher for 3 months

Non-lethal self and home protection

Carl L Lane
ILLUMINATION

--

Image courtesy of the author, Carl L Lane

We all see today’s headlines today of violence all over America. So it’s natural to want some sort of protection should the need arise. Like a lot of people, I assumed that the only real option in today’s America was deadly force. But about six months ago I started hearing about a company called Byrna, that is manufacturing a a self defense weapon that was supposedly adequate to defend yourself in a life threatening situation.

I specifically wanted something that was non lethal, if I could find it, because I wanted to minimize the potential cost of missing a burglar and shooting through a wall in the darkness. I also wanted to give myself a chance in such an emergency, to avoid killing someone or seriously injuring them, even if I didn’t miss.

Call me a softy if you like.

The Byrna HD pepperball launcher is not intended to kill an assailant, but to quickly incapacitate them. With the Byrna HD being far from cheap, at more than $360 each, I wanted to do as much research as I could before making the investment. I wanted to make sure it would get the job done.

I went in search of customer reviews and videos. There were lots of videos of videos on Youtube…

--

--

Carl L Lane
ILLUMINATION

English degree, published author of fiction and nonfiction, certified sommelier, fitness enthusiast, and someone who cares deeply about the world we live in.