What I Learned Flying to Japan with Two Strangers

It was one of the most terrifying but most pivotal moments of my life

Trudy Horsting
World Traveler’s Blog

--

Photo by Tianshu Liu on Unsplash

Most people don’t really learn independence until it’s their only choice. Until they move away from home for the first time or they’re in a position where they have to act as the “adult,” true independence isn’t necessary. As a result, they don’t use it.

As I grew up I had many experiences where I learned the basics of independence, and going away to college was certainly a big moment of growth. However, even in college my mom was only a phone call away. There was a health center on campus, and I had easy access to any material thing I needed. There wasn’t much I had to figure out on my own besides what to cook for dinner.

Traveling to a foreign country where I didn’t speak the language and didn’t know the currency was pivotal to my growth, and it altered my confidence for the better.

I was 20 years old when I flew across the world to Japan. Old enough that I shouldn’t be that scared right? To be honest, I was terrified. I had never been out of the country by myself and the kicker was, on this trip, I went with two strangers.

Let me explain.

The long story short is that I had applied to attend a student conference…

--

--

Trudy Horsting
World Traveler’s Blog

Writer. PhD Candidate. Frugal Traveler. Passionate about health, personal growth, and saving money.