What I Learned From Curation On Medium?

My Curated story only made $0.02.

Sahil Patel
ILLUMINATION
4 min readApr 7, 2021

--

Image By Author(My Curated Story's stats)

When I joined Medium in April 2020, I don’t know much about it. However, when I joined Facebook groups of Medium to promote my Medium posts. I came to know about curation. Most of the people write on Medium to get curated.

Since, then curation became my one and only goal.

However, I tried hard to get curated. I read thousands of articles on “How To Get Curated On Medium”?. When I was first introduced to the term “Curation Jail”. I was so sad and frastated knowing that I was too in a Curation Jail.

Medium curation jail is a term used by Medium writers to describe their account being flagged, whether by a curator or through the Medium algorithm, which results in their new articles no longer being considered for curation.

On the other side, I am happy to let you all know that I am no longer in Curation Jail. I celebrated my first year anniversary on the Medium.

That was the day when my first article got Curated on Medium. I was happy to receive a best return gift from Medium. I was so happy that day.

I thought that I will have a good views on my Curated article now.

There are some myths about Curation on Medium.

  1. Your article will not hit millions of views. ( Exception for some of really high quality articles)
  2. Your curated article is not going to make some good amount of money.
  3. Your curated article is not going to be liked by everyone on Medium.
  4. Your article is not going to increase your followers.

https://medium.com/technical-excellence/why-curation-is-not-the-only-way-to-succeed-on-medium-cd0027e173e0

The biggest lesson I have learned from Curation on Medium is you can’t be successful on Medium by Curation.

I believe that I have to impress my readers more than curators. If I am able to impress my reader, Medium curators will also be impressed by my writing.

The thing I just want to tell you is if you are in Curation jail, don’t think your article doesn’t have any value to the readers. Don’t think you can’t earn more money without Curation.

I mostly write poems on Medium which are about 1 or 2 minute read. I have written more than 150 poetry on Medium and also published my first poetry book.

My most of the poetry make more than $3 which are about 1 minute read.

Here, is one of my poetry which has 157 views, 103 reads and 49 fans.

Image By Author

On the other side, my curated article have 32 views, 3 reads and 2 fans and made around $0.02.

I was so surprised by seeing the difference between the performance of this two Stories cause my curated story was around 5 minute read.

Therefore I want to tell you all of you, who are in Curation Jail don’t be disappointed.

Focus on writing great stuff rather than writing for Curation.

As a writer, I always believe in winning the trust of my readers.

For me, my reader and followers are everything to me.

Write for your readers:-

The best thing Medium can do for you is to give you an opportunity to create a platform to build a geniune audience as a writer. Medium has some amazing group of readers, who doesn’t just read your content. However, they will give you suggestions for improvement.

That’s why I always say,

Medium gives a room to each and every writer for improvement. Nothing is more important for a writer than a genuine feedback because writer can only grow by suggestions and advice not by money.

Write for yourself:-

Don’t write for Curation and money on Medium. If you write for your readers and for the reason why you started writing, believe me it will make you more money than Curation.

As a writer, never forget the reason why you started writing. Writing helps when I was going through the toughest time of my life.

For me, Writing is a therapy.

I started writing to motivate and heal the soul of people by my words.

Medium has lots of advantages. I published my book writing on Medium. You can also be a bestseller writer, by writing on Medium. How?

Here, you can read

What one thing we all need to become successful on Medium,

Stay safe and don’t forget to write on Medium!

--

--