What I Learned Working in Finance for 10+ Years

Finance is a religion greater than Jesus

Tim Denning
ILLUMINATION
Published in
6 min readFeb 21, 2022

--

Photo by Nirmal Rajendharkumar on Unsplash

Handing back my access card always makes me cry.

That’s the last task you do before you leave a job. When I quit working at one bank, the waterfalls burst out of my eyes.

I learned to love finance after being skeptical of the industry at the start. I learned the secrets of the finance world while working in banking and managing some of the largest companies in the world.

Here are a few wisdom bombs that will slap you silly.

Finance is a religion greater than Jesus

“It’s a faith based system.”

That’s what former president and CEO of the Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas, in the US, Thomas Hoenig, said about our global financial system. I agree.

The US dollar used to be redeemable for gold. Now it’s not backed by anything. You have to have blind faith in government that a currency is worth something.

One day that faith will be tested.

You don’t own your money

When you deposit money into a bank account it’s no longer yours.

--

--

Tim Denning
ILLUMINATION

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb