What I learned From Mindless Arguments: Cheatcodes to Win-Win

Boss doesn’t give you a raise? Burned that bridge?

Sruthi Korlakunta
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readJun 2, 2020

--

Image from pixabay

I recently had an altercation with a friend about an opinion I found hard to digest.

It probably wasn’t the smartest decision I made. After all, one’s perspective is a result of what side of the argument brain-washed you first.

Needless to say, I unwittingly burned that bridge at the end of the argument. This flustered me more than a little, because “I was rational”, in my head. I then evaluated every argument I had. Turns out unsurprisingly, there is a pattern to how these end. In most cases, as rational as we consider ourselves, emotion is the only gasoline that drives an argument.

Consequently, I consulted a bunch of literature to see what I was doing wrong (and right). Some smart people and great thinkers have figured this out for the rest of us already. There is a whole of material out there. My take-aways from this :

  1. Minds are malleable but will resist the change unless it’s their idea (Or they believe it is).
  2. People can be as nice to you as you are to them despite major differences in opinion.
  3. Arguments don’t have to be a heated self-defeating emotional mess.

--

--

Sruthi Korlakunta
ILLUMINATION

I write on tech, books, and lifestyle. | Data analyst | Made human by all the people who love me.