What I Wish I Were Told at College Graduation

The post-graduation job hunt is a reality check I didn't need.

Eloise
ILLUMINATION
4 min readMay 27, 2024

--

Illustration by Cana — Copyright-free

Under the watchful eyes of three women, I sit down in the conference room for the second phase of the job interview process. I had already completed a 2-hour computer test that examined logical thinking, foreign language skills and memory. They sit across from me, and I feel hopelessly outnumbered. I smile at them in an attempt to ease the tension, but they remain neutral. There is an empty glass and a pitcher of water on my table. I immediately pour myself a glass to occupy my hands while the interviewers introduce themselves.

“This shouldn't feel like an exam; we just want to assess each candidate’s personality fairly”, I’m being told. I’d prefer to sit an exam, frankly. At least you can prepare and are being judged on your ability to reproduce information. This psychological assessment is much more personal — judging who I am and whether I can do the job. It feels like a defence of my character.

For an hour, I’m being asked situational questions for which I need to find scenarios to illustrate how I react under certain conditions. The biggest hurdle turns out to be remembering appropriate situations while enduring the silence in the room. I can’t bear to hear myself talk or think any longer.

I’m relieved to finally leave the building and this situation behind me. Two phases of the interview process are done, only one more conversation to go. I should be happy to be invited to the third and last step of the recruitment process, as most applications remain unanswered altogether.

The last interview resembles a conversation where I can show my confidence and personality. The head of the department seems to like me, and as he concludes his questions, I get to pose mine. Just before the interview ends, he throws a curveball at me:

“Have you considered applying for the internship? Cause this position is permanent, and you lack experience compared to other candidates.”

I’m caught off guard. After 3 months of computer tests and interviews for a permanent position, this was a punch in the gut. I knew then and there that I would not get the job. One out of many rejections.

Finding a job right out of university with little professional experience is challenging for most young graduates. But I didn’t expect to be so personally impacted that I would question my abilities and character.

“What are you gonna do after graduation?” might be the most asked question to any recent grads. In the beginning, you’re still high on the achievement of completing a degree and not too worried about admitting that you’re unsure. But after a few rejections and no new prospects, it becomes difficult to engage in that conversation. But maybe that’s important to admit.

Most people can remember the stress of finding that perfect job, but you forget after settling into the workforce. So, to all graduates, here are the things I wish I had been told at graduation (from someone in their first proper job):

  1. Mentally prepare for rejections as part of the process. That doesn’t say anything about your skills or employability. In reality, that decision often has nothing to do with you. Rather, the employer has a specific candidate in mind and you don’t fit that criteria. Employers won’t give you an honest reason why you weren’t invited to an interview, so when in doubt assume it has nothing to do with you.
  2. You’re allowed to enjoy life in the meantime. You can proudly take advantage of the newfound free time, whilst applying for jobs. There is no need to hide at home and spend your days scanning the internet for new job postings. Set aside time dedicated to writing applications and spend the rest away from your computer.
  3. Apply to unrealistic jobs. You don’t have to fulfil all the criteria of a posting. If anything, it will help you get the ball rolling and you get routine. There is nothing to lose. I used these applications as training ground for positions that felt more realistic. Since you’ll go into it expecting a rejection, you can only be positively surprised.
  4. Every step leads to something. If you can view every job and internship as a valuable experience by looking for what it can teach you, it takes the pressure out of finding the right job. Even if it’s just about finding out what you don’t want to do. I studied and interned in marketing before realising I wanted to switch to diplomacy. Even though the industries seem completely unrelated, I could put skills from my bachelor's degree to use. And that leads me to my last point:
  5. There is no perfect job. Rather, there can be several jobs/industries that you will enjoy. If you don’t get the job that you were set on, there can be something different around the corner that you never even considered.

--

--

Eloise
ILLUMINATION

26 | late bloomer | writing from personal experience about the ace spectrum, foreign policy and all kinds of relationships