What Is Oldest Child Syndrome?

Luke Tarling
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readJul 24, 2023

--

Photo by Gabriel Tovar on Unsplash

Being the eldest child can be one of the most rewarding parts of being a sibling. There are many advantages to being the eldest sibling. For example, I love the fact that my brother Jack looks up to me. He loves having conversations with me and he finds me funny. He’s only ten years old but I feel so much love for that boy. However, being the eldest sibling can also be very nerve-wracking. As the beady eyes of our siblings watch on, pressure begins to build like a volcano full of molten lava.

Photo by Tetiana Grypachevska on Unsplash

Oldest child syndrome is not a diagnosable condition but is known as a collection of characteristics and traits that emerge from the eldest sibling. For example, for the first three years of my life, I was an only child. In August 2006, my brother Ben was born. For a very long time, I felt like I was competing for my mother’s attention with Ben. These behaviours became more toxic as Ben grew up, leading to physical fights and constant arguments.

Photo by Zdeněk Macháček on Unsplash

Common characteristics of oldest child syndrome:

  • You may feel very…

--

--

Luke Tarling
ILLUMINATION

Sharing experiences, insights, and tips on mental health, trauma, and speaking up for child survivors of sexual abuse. BPD and CPTSD insights.