DEMENTIA | MENTAL HEALTH

What It Feels Like to Know You Have Alzheimer’s

Meet 61-year-old Jack. This is his story.

Ticapo
ILLUMINATION
Published in
6 min readMay 9, 2022

--

Photo by zaid mohammed from Pexels

When I met Jack in the hallway, I didn’t ‘see’ anything about him. He wore his jacket, seemingly ready to leave, with his hands in his pockets. Cheerful with a kind smile. I thought he was a visitor, not a new resident, greeted him, and continued to the living room.

“I’m not sure how much help he needs with his breakfast”, my colleague said.

I looked puzzled. Who was she talking about? Jack was standing in the living room by then and looking around him, patiently scanning the place. Since he was the only person out there, it had to be about him.

At that point, I only worked at this place for one month, and I had never met someone that young (61-years old) with Alzheimer’s disease. Or of any other age, frankly.

Making breakfast became a new thing for me, in this new job. It requires knowing each person and their needs, to be able to serve them well.

What happens during breakfast

James puts his knife, fork, or fish in his drinks. Or smears butter on his placemat. Matthew puts his piece of bread in the butter tray or pours coffee milk on his bread.

--

--

Ticapo
ILLUMINATION

Applied psychologist in training. Strives to improve mental health and sleep quality to boost your well-being.