What I’ve Learned From My Weekly Column For The Writing Cooperative

How a writing obligation can affect your productivity

Walter Rhein
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readFeb 24, 2021

--

Photo by RetroSupply on Unsplash

I’ve been working on Medium for a little over nine months now, and I continue to find it an engaging and exciting platform. My best month made me a little less than $1,000, and I typically do around 25 articles per pay period.

In December 2020, the editors of The Writing Cooperative approached me to do a weekly column. We brainstormed ideas for a while and finally settled on calling the column ‘The Reckless Writer.’ The name is a nod to my travel novel ‘Reckless Traveler.’

I conceived the column to be a place to engage in all things writing-related. To date, I have handled a Writing Cooperative newsletter and published 9 articles in the column. I really enjoy the Writing Cooperative and find both the editors and the readers to be helpful and encouraging.

Benefits

One of the biggest benefits of writing a column is that it means I start every work week knowing an article is scheduled with one of Medium’s largest publications. Work with The Writing Cooperative is always instantly chosen for distribution, so it’s good to have those articles in my back pocket.

--

--

Walter Rhein
ILLUMINATION

10+ years experience as a certified English and Physics teacher. 20+ years of experience as an editor, journalist, blogger and novelist. WalterRhein@gmail.com