What Language do you speak?

Damon Smith
ILLUMINATION
Published in
1 min readDec 31, 2022
Photo by Katie Moum on Unsplash

In brief, I would like to understand what portion of our readers speak English as a second language.

I sat in bed today and realised how “English bias” a lot of the content on Medium is.

Many people want to use Medium to improve their storytelling and writing ability, but the majority of the content seems to be in English.

Therefore, I would like to ask everyone reading…

WHAT IS YOUR FIRST LANGUAGE?

So, why do I want to know?

I want to do my bit in catering to all cultures and to do so, I want to start publishing my stories in 2 or 3 batches. 1 in English and then 1 or 2 others in the next most popular language(s).

Unfortunately, those cultured souls will have to make do with the Google translate function so apologies in advance.

So please comment below your first language (if not English).

Thank you for reading.

--

--

Damon Smith
ILLUMINATION

A Ponderer - Hybrid Athlete - An Accountant.🇬🇧 Please follow to keep up to date 👍🏻