What love is to me

Love is a good bad thing

ALOK HEGDE
ILLUMINATION
3 min readApr 9, 2022

--

Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

In my last article about love(the above one), I wrote how love is such a friendly stranger to me, and I do not understand what it is. Now I feel I do have a better understanding of it, if not a complete one because I believe the fire of problems will reveal the true love the people have for each other.

I think love is when you understand the other person, understand what shit they are going through, and still be with them after learning their flaws and issues, instead of just running away. Love is your mind being a simp and constantly reminding you of them. Love is a weird feeling that gets shaped by your memories with them.

Love can be anything. It’s your love, so it has the meaning you want it to have. It is a sliver of your personality and attitude towards the other person.

Love is all your good memories being entangled with images of their happy face.

Love is the confidence you feel after a fight, the confidence that this fight too shall pass, unlike the love which shall be constant.

Love is shown in different ways, by gifting something, through an act of love, or even dying. That’s a little problematic innit. Dying, that’s where I draw the line.

Love is when you do the most mundane and boring things together but feel contempt because you have the company of each other.

I keep saying love is this, love is that. That is because your meaning of love for a person might change, but the love you feel for them shall remain constant.

Loving someone does not mean knowing them 100 percent, but knowing 100 percent of what they want you to know.

Love is knowing what would make them smile when they are crying. Not only that, but it is also knowing what would make them full pissed off Hulk style.

Conditions for love to take place —

  1. Temperature: hot, cold, anything. Love them in all the seasons. Love them when they are sweaty. Be the one to make them sweaty. Love them when they smell like summer.
  2. Catalyst: Being vulnerable and being yourself will accelerate and increase feelings of love for one other. Being vulnerable is sexy as hell, like people telling me how they feel, I would just listen to that and not even meet them. That’s enough for me. I am joking(Wink Wink)
  3. Pressure: NO PRESSURE. It leads to performance problems.

4. IMPORTANT INGREDIENT: Communication with a capital C. Communication is crucial for love and for any relationship between anyone.

A witch gave me this recipe for love. Love guaranteed.100 days.

Spaghetti code:

Also, PRACTICE SAFE SEX. If they tell no to condoms, they are a bad investment. Don’t take any percentage of their company. Don’t give them any equity. This is not a requirement for love, but it is kinda important if you don’t want any mistakes.

Should you love someone as you would yourself?

Absolutely, indefinitely, unquestionably, but saying it is the easy part. Loving yourself would mean showing compassion towards yourself.

It would mean accepting your flaws and all your curves and all your edges. But sometimes you can’t.

When you tell the other person your flaws, instead of judging you for them, they accept your flaws and help you love yourself the way that you are.

Teaching each other to show compassion and acceptance towards oneself and the other person is my definition of love.

If a person has made you accept your flaws and accepted the flaws that you can’t change, that is love.

If someone has made you feel this way, haha you are in love. It’s gonna hurt like a buttcheek on a stick. But you will like it as well. Nay, love it. See what I did there.

Love will indefinitely come to you if you accept your flaws and love yourself.

Also, if you are trying to ‘woo’ someone, you should tell them “I don’t smile for the camera, but I smile for you”.

Thank you for reading and have a lovely day.

--

--