What Moving to A New Country Taught Me

Lessons were learned.

Nerissa Talique
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by William Bayreuther on Unsplash

On the 12th of September 2021, I left my home country of Jamaica to continue my post-secondary education in the city of Edmonton, found in the center of the northern Canadian province of Alberta. Yes, I a young woman knowing only the scorching summers of my tropical home, decided to move to quite literally one of the coldest places on the planet. To say that it has been an adjustment would be an understatement

It has been one of the most difficult, painful, and enlightening experiences I think I would ever have undergone. Here are some of the lessons I learned.

Learning to love from a far……in more ways than I thought.

Due to the pandemic, I had to defer my 2020 enrollment and opted to start in 2021. My disappointment in having to do this was immense due to my feverish want to leave, mostly due to my strained relationship with my father. Growing up in Jamaica is not easy. Even though it is a beautiful country, it is one fraught with corruption, crime, and cultural discourse. So most parents teach their children how to go about their lives safely and pray that they will return home when they send them off into the world. My parents were no different, but my father was steps above the rest.

--

--

Nerissa Talique
ILLUMINATION

A young woman with a wide ranging love for all things literature and nature so much so I dream of being both a Biologist and a Novelist.