What My Experience In Theatre Taught Me During Med School

There is more to it than just confidence

Awab Hussain
ILLUMINATION
3 min readJan 14, 2021

--

Photo by Kyle Head on Unsplash

During my first year of medical school, the cabinets of various co-curricular societies would come and introduce themselves. They all had one common selling point: confidence.

Well, I don't blame them. People coming to medical schools need strong reasons to clear their schedules and make way for debating or theatre acting. So, they convinced us that standing behind a podium or performing in front of a crowd would equip us with the necessary tools of communication that would make us stand out amongst our peers.

I, for one, was not a book worm so I joined the debating and dramatics clubs. I spoke at various national public speaking tournaments, wrote plays and acted in front of thousands of people. But now, as I am about to close the chapter of med school altogether, I can tell you that it was more than just confidence, what dramatics society, in particular, taught me.

You see, most people, live out their whole lives in a narrowed, self-focused way. You get up, go out for a run or to your regular place, have some coffee and perhaps, a croissant, go to your work, spend time with your friends or family and go to bed. I ask you a simple question.

During this daily cycle, have you ever noticed how that old couple, sits on the same bench, feeding the pigeons as you jog by, or how the waitress who serves you coffee has a habit of letting out a little snort as she laughs, or how your colleague has a habit of chewing off his lower lip when he panics, or how the guard, who lets you in, wears a bracelet in his right hand saying, “ best dad ever!” (probably a gift from his daughter)?

You never noticed these small details because they never mattered to you. You did not deliberately ignore them, your life’s portrait lens just blurred them out in a convenient background to capture you perfectly. It contrasted you instead of blending you in.

This is what theatre acting and writing changed in me.

It changed my portrait lens to a wide-angle lens.

When I was sitting at my desk, thinking about the characters and the stories to give them, I started to observe and appreciate the small details around me. I realized that I was as important as the background. I realized that everyone has a story to tell, which is unique and beautiful in its own way. Like a puzzle, each piece has its own value, but the meaning is complete only when they are put together. This wide-angle view humbled me.

Photo by Josh Calabrese on Unsplash

Gave me the chance to try someone else's shoes.

Those who view cinema or theatre deeply or those who’ve tried acting will agree that acting is not just about memorising dialogues and delivering them with expressions, its an opportunity to step out of your own existence and veneer yourself with the essence of strangers. To relive their stories with all the mirths and tragedies, to laugh like them, cry like them, love and even hate like them, in short, to become someone else entirely.

When I was on stage, the characters I performed taught me the art of stepping out of myself. Putting on shoes that are not mine is the expression of empathy that theatre gave me.

Now, as I prepare myself to step out into professional life, I can say that confidence is an important tool, but what's more important is the source of that confidence. If my confidence stems from my empathy towards my patients, I’ll have a better chance to connect with them and make them believe that I am there for them. I believe this feeling alone, to be heard and understood, alleviates half of the suffering.

--

--