What No One Tells You About Being a Vegetarian

I can’t remember what meat tastes like…

Allison Hilton
ILLUMINATION
5 min readJun 17, 2020

--

Photo by T. Q. on Unsplash

I was first introduced to the idea of being a vegetarian while eating lunch in the cafeteria in kindergarten. My best friend at the time, Olivia, was going on-and-on about how great it was, and at that moment my curiosity was sparked.

At the ripe old age of 6, I wasn’t exactly consuming vast quantities of meat, so at first, the transition was easy. The only hiccups I would run into would be at family barbeques, so to save myself the inconveniences, I granted myself 10 exceptions a year. I could eat meat only 10 times during the whole year, and aside from that, I would stick to a vegetarian diet. This was a walk in the park.

I stuck to that diet for many years. Occasionally, I would go a full year or two without any meat, but there were usually a few exceptions sprinkled in. That all changed when I hit 13 years old, it was time to get serious. Towards the end of fall sports during my 8th grade, there was a barbeque to celebrate the season. It was then that I had my last piece of meat, a burnt, unseasoned, cheeseburger. It’s been 7 years and I have not had a single bite of meat since.

Photo by Erik Odiin on Unsplash

Time for the most commonly asked question, why did I become a vegetarian? Simply put, I felt bad for the animals. I didn’t feel like I needed to eat them, and so I didn’t. There are also the various health benefits that acted as the cherry-on-top for my meat hiatus.

I don’t see why someone should lose their life just so you can have a snack.~Russell Brand

The past 7 years haven’t been easy, and here are the main things I learned that no one tells you about.

You forget the taste of meat

Yes, you read that correctly. I am sure for a lot of you that concept is hard to imagine, but it’s true. I was able to remember what meat tasted like for a couple of years after stopping, so it doesn’t go away overnight. One day about 4 years ago I realized I couldn't remember the taste anymore, it was a very bizarre realization. The only thing I remember now is that I liked it. I liked cheeseburgers, chicken, and steak, but I have no idea what it tastes like.

The sight begins to repulse you

I never had the best stomach when it came to seeing people eat meat. For a while, before I became a strict vegetarian, it was just the sight of people eating lobsters that I couldn’t stomach. Now, it’s any slab of uncooked meat, whether it be steak or chicken breasts, it makes me sick to look at. I tried my best to eat a bean burger a few years back, but I couldn’t get past the similarity it had to the real thing. I took one bite and I was finished. The more time that goes by without eating meat, the more you will start to despise it.

It’s harder than you think

Being a vegetarian is one of the biggest inconveniences in my life. Have you ever tried going to a steakhouse with friends while not being able to eat meat? I have, it’s not fun. Most places you will go there will always be something you can eat, whether it be the dreaded salad or a side of mac and cheese, you can usually make it work. The most difficult times are when traveling. I went to Ecuador and for the whole week, my meals consisted mainly of rice.

Losing 9 pounds in one week wasn’t even the worst part, it was the plane ride. They had two options for food on the 7-hour flight, spaghetti or chicken. I chose spaghetti, but they forgot to mention it was mixed in with meat sauce. So yes, on the plane ride to Ecuador I spent my time carefully separating the pasta from the meat.

Now, why not just eat the meat since the animal already had to die and it would go to waste anyway? Have you ever tried eating meat after not eating it for 5 years? Me neither, and I was not about to find out the consequences right before arriving in Ecuador.

Photo by Cathal Mac an Bheatha on Unsplash

In the end, would I recommend becoming a vegetarian? Yes. It makes me feel good, like I am doing some small part to help the world, and the health benefits make it worth it to me. You just need to understand what you’re getting yourself into.

No animal needs to die in order for me to live and that makes me feel good.~Howard Lynan

It varies depending on the person and what your current diet is, but the transition can be hard. It gets easier as the years go on but it is definitely a learning process. If you’re used to eating a lot of meat and the idea of cutting it all out seems daunting, I recommend giving yourself some exceptions during the year like I did, it makes the transition a lot more manageable.

Overall your diet is all about preference and what works for you. Happy eating!

Photo by Scott Warman on Unsplash

--

--

Allison Hilton
ILLUMINATION

Future entrepreneur with a love for travel, kittens and life