What No One Tells You About The Deeper “SELF”

Nicole Dyer
ILLUMINATION
Published in
7 min readOct 19, 2020

--

…how to talk to yourSELF and heal

Photo by Christopher Campbell on Unsplash

“As soon as you trust yourself, you will know how to live.”

  • Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

“For it is in your power to retire into yourself whenever you choose.”

  • Marcus Aurelius

“I’ll not listen to reason…reason always means what someone else has got to say.”

  • Elizabeth Gaskell

“Self trust is the essence of heroism.”

  • Ralph Waldo Emerson

Fear and mistrust led me on a journey of self-discovery. Fear of the outside world and all of its insidious individuals and events. Mistrust of these individuals and their intentions towards me and the ones that I loved. Fear of my inside world and the mistrust of my own inner wisdom.

“Love and light” didn’t lead me here, but instead fear and mistrust. While I continue to question the reality of pain, suffering, of trauma, I am continually led back into myself. I am continually pulled, pushed, prodded, in the most subtle of ways to dig into compassion. To meet myself with honor, with dignity, with an openness to the parts of myself that want nothing more than to be freed from the traumatic experiences in which they work tirelessly as protectors of the Self, being engulfed and…

--

--

Nicole Dyer
ILLUMINATION

The emotional body is insightful & the imagination is limitless. Doorways to the SOUL...