What "Quiet Quitting" Looks Like for a Teacher

Set Limits, Take your Life Back, and Still do a Great Job

Kim Baker
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Author

It is my day off, so instead of leading my class full of budding minds in creative activities, I am sitting at my large crafting table (a table that is almost never used for crafting these days) at home, surrounded by neat stacks of paper organized into class piles of graded and ungraded work. I stare dutifully at the paper in front of me, trying not to think about what my husband and daughter are doing at the park. Even if she is throwing a tantrum at this moment, I would rather be there. My eyes keep moving, and I turn the page.

I have spent most of my working life as a teacher, and I know very well how it can take up almost all of your waking hours if you don't set limits. In fact, it can make you extend your waking hours and eat into your sleeping time.

The problem is, I love my students, my job's creative and dynamic, and I want to be a great teacher. How could "Quiet Quitting" possibly be an option for me?

Doing the bare minimum at my job seems like it would be cheating my students, but there are ways to do less and still do a great job!

Stop doing everything for your students and start asking them to do things for themselves.

--

--

Kim Baker
ILLUMINATION

I am a teacher, an immigrant, and a photographer currently living in Spain. I write about international living, relationships, and learning.