What Silence does, words can destroy

Umme Kulsoom Khatri
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readAug 12, 2022

Why do I talk less and listen more now…

We often come across situations and circumstances where our words can act as weapons.

Words have their own energy and impact. It can be only seen once they are out from our system and into the universe.

Their sound, the frequency with which they are uttered, the tone and rhythm associated with the words, everything combines together to form a collective image of how they will impact the person they are spoken to.

Its also important to understand why was it necessary to say those sentences in that very moment. Was it something extempore, something planned, something you consciously made an effort to say?

https://souravsinha.com/2021/05/06/the-power-of-silence/

Now why do I say that Silence could turn the tables around?

With time and experience, I have learnt to be more mindful about what I say and when I say it. Yes there are slip of tongues. Yes there are conversations that are emotionally overwhelming and I may utter a word or two in the heat of the moment. But the frequency of saying something with a negative connotation and negative energy has significantly decreased.

Its been rough understanding and evaluating what damage my words have already done or could have done if the other person wasn’t willing to let go of my momentarily arguments and conversation rather digging deeper into where all of this is coming from. Had it not been the true and honest feedback from friends and family, I would have never thought about giving Silence a thought to incorporate in my day to day conversations.

With my recent experience of giving a lot of job interviews, I found something so prevalent about silence that it helped me understand the managers and recruiters better. Pause when needed. Don’t rush into saying it all what you have prepared. Stay quiet for a few seconds if you have to think about something and you don’t know what to say. This is a sign of a person who calculates and gathers his/her thoughts before saying anything out loud.

Silence also helps in understanding arguments better. It brings you to the best of your understanding. Often you would laugh and be grateful after silently observing the other person, considering you didn’t indulge in the conversation in first place as it wasn’t necessary. It takes moments to build an empire out of nothing and sometimes years to bring that down if the impact has lasted long enough.

If you have ever tried it yourself, let me know in the comments. If not, give it a chance and you will see life changing results.

And at last….

Silence has its own sound
That you can listen to when no one is around.

If you’re an avid reader and want some awesome write-ups, consider supporting me and thousands of other writers. If you’d like to support my content and the content of other writers and would want to stay updated on my future posts, please sign up here!

OR

You can buy me a Coffee here if you really liked something from my articles!

--

--

Umme Kulsoom Khatri
ILLUMINATION

Chicago based Communications Consultant, Entrepreneur running handicrafts and South Asian food ventures, Writings on Food, Mental health and Cyber psychology.