What to read?

Recommended book series #part 2

Shubhangi Narayan
ILLUMINATION
2 min readSep 6, 2023

--

Picture by: S. Narayan

In the last book review, I talked about AND THEN THERE WERE NONE by Agatha Christine. I hope you guys have read it or at least are curious to try it. I would love to know your views on the book. As promised this review will be about my other favorite thriller-mystery, which is THE SILENT PATIENT by Alex Michaelides.

The Silent Patient

A gruesome murder, a silent woman in her own head, and a therapist determined to make her speak.

The Silent Patient is a psychological suspense with dark mystery vibes that keep you wanting to unfold the truth. Rather than investigating the crime, this book follows the minds and thoughts of criminals and what drives them to murder. This book follows the story of Alicia Berenson and Theo Faber.

Alicia Berenson- a famous painter who was married to a famous photographer Gabriel Berenson. They were in love and were happily married until one day Alicia shot him dead in the middle of the night. After her husband’s death, she painted a now famous painting, Alcestis, and has become quiet and has not spoken a single word. During the trial, she was considered mentally unstable and was locked in the Grove.

Theo Faber is a criminal psychotherapist who has a keen interest in Alicia’s case. He took a new job just to talk to her, he has been waiting to unlock her secret and make her speak. He wants to get to the bottom of the case and know what actually drove her to shoot her husband in his face five times and never speak again. He believes only he can make her talk.

The story built up of the characters as the story moves forward is amazing. Rather than following Alicia’s life journey in first-person view, this book follows Theo’s journey about how he joined the Grove and his progress regarding Alicia’s story and case.

The plot twist is something that would make you think “I could not have guessed that”. The final reveal was worth the time invested in the book alone; it was the most shocking and intelligently plotted reveal I’ve read in ages, and I read a lot. I hope you guys will give this a try and discuss it further.

The next book that I will discuss is The Forest of Enchantment by Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni. I am in love with the author and the book so I hope you will be ready to read if you wish to discuss that or sit tight for my review of the book before starting.

PS- Please clap comment and share your view.

--

--

Shubhangi Narayan
ILLUMINATION

A Reader, Reviewer, and a Content Writer . Refer me if you like my writing style.