What to wear and how much to wear in winter?

Yes! it’s a task!

Ekta Wadhwa
ILLUMINATION
2 min readNov 18, 2022

--

Winters are about festivities; food and enjoying the sunshine. One important aspect of winter is winter wear. The unending variety of woolen available will motivate some and confuse others. I am somewhere in the middle, I have developed a liking to dress up but the effort part is still under construction. I feel cold, really cold, and can wear numerous layers in winter; just like cabbage, layering to the core.

That’s me. Photo by Dmitry Ratushny on Unsplash

The battle starts when someone invites us for a get-together. Home clothes are so sorted, a hoodie over a thermal paired with warm pajamas with those woolen socks that need to be discarded but I don’t. The dinner can be indoors or outdoors, I start with the first layer, the lifesaving jacket, my thermal. I have a variety of thermals; warm, super warm, worn out less warm, and the itch-causing deadly warm. When the base is ready, high necks are second in rank and seniority. One must have turtle-neck and high-neck sweaters in all basic colors. Pair them with black trousers or leggings over thermal leggings.

Not to forget the warm socks, I usually wear two layers. Bring on the colored silk, cashmere, and lightweight scarves; wrap them and finally, I put on a coat, the pockets have a pair of super light gloves. Black boots save me ( the party warrior) from shivering and shaking. I carry a lightweight shawl too, this is for the moment when the fog starts falling, but the happy social ones refuse to call it a night. I have strict instructions not to wear the legendary cap ( it has survived many deadly winter mornings).

The Winter Warrior Princess. Photo by Kateryna Hliznitsova on Unsplash

The climax is when you reach the venue and then a woman enters, wearing a backless dress with high heels; sparkling, shining, and weatherproof. Seasons don’t affect her, is she an alien? NO! I am the alien. And now it’s time for me to take my UFO and get back home, have some tea and think about what and how much to wear for the next day.😉

--

--

Ekta Wadhwa
ILLUMINATION

Writing and reading about daily life experiences that are simple yet impactful