Poetry

What Will I Be?

Prompt: childhood dreams

Rochelle Silva
ILLUMINATION
Published in
1 min readDec 31, 2020

--

Photo by Kazuo OTA on Unsplash

I always had this struggle,
“Whom do I want to be?”,
A speaker on a stage?
An actress dressed in fancy clothes?
An astronaut hurtling through space,
A ballerina twirling and pirouetting?
A scientist finding a cure for illness?
A teacher inspiring young minds?
A designer creating otherworldly spaces?
An artist painting to her heart’s content?

Whom do I want to be?
Will I ever find out?
Will I ever stick to one?

Prompt: Childhood dreams (Do you remember your childhood dreams? Are you following what you dreamed of? Or did you discover something much better?)

Tagging Lucy The Eggcademic (she/her) | Aimée Gramblin | Melissa Bee| Imad| Dr Preeti Singh | Agnes Louis and anyone else interested to try out the prompt if time permits.

As the year comes to an end, take some time to reflect on your life and dreams. Wish you all the very best for a happy 2021! Thank you very much for being a supportive community!

--

--

Rochelle Silva
ILLUMINATION

PhD grad from NTU 🇸🇬| Logophile | Artist | Coffee Lover | Sri Lankan | https://linktr.ee/rochellesilva | Buy me a ☕https://bit.ly/399XKRX