What You Can Learn From 20k Podcasters About Launching A Podcast

Their insights will save you time and frustration

Derek Oxley
ILLUMINATION

--

I asked 20k podcasters “how they launched their podcast, and if they had it to do over what would they change?” The responses ranged from I just jumped in, to I wouldn’t change a thing.

It wasn’t just a random question to a group of podcasters. It served a dual purpose. My primary reason for posing the question was part research for four friends who are considering launching their podcast. And I am in the middle of creating a Podcast YCombinator style bootcamp for podcasters in the early stages of their podcast startup.

If you are considering starting a show I know what you must be feeling because not too long ago, I was in your shoes. You may have feelings of self-doubt, overwhelming thoughts of pulling all of the moving parts together, doing research, buying equipment, learning software, and gear. There is a ton of planning and execution occurs behind the scenes before you even hit record.

I am familiar with the feeling of starting something new. I get it. When I launched my coaching business in 2007, I dropped about $1,000 on a three-day coach training program.

Back then, I didn’t have a target audience, but I knew I wanted to help people, that…

--

--

Derek Oxley
ILLUMINATION

Host of BTW Podcast:( https://bit.ly/35HO1R3 ) a show that amplifies ordinary people who are doing EXTRAordinary things in their communities