What You Learn

Michelle Renee Kidwell
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readJul 30, 2023

--

Lessons from the Food Pantry

Photo by Steve Knutson on Unsplash

Others have questioned if hunger exists in our country; I can tell you that hunger does exist in this country. For many adults and children, going to sleep hungry is not a threat; it’s a regular occurrence. And it must end. ~ Former USDA Secretary Mike Espy

A food pantry serves as a reminder that there are those who are truly hungry. We had two people come in on Thursday who were obviously hungry, and their hunger was heartbreakingly obvious. I had packed myself a light lunch of Salami and Crackers, as I always do, but on that particular day, I knew it wasn’t meant for me, but for the couple who had come in, the couple who were so hungry that they began eating the food I offered then and there, along with a couple of mini cans of soda, which I drink to lessen migraines if they occur. Many of the times, I am not the one who drinks them; they are free for everyone, including the other volunteers.

A few people do take advantage of the situation, not many, but often enough that we had to enforce a stricter sign-in policy. Having said that, most of the people who come in are wonderful, especially since Nancy opened the satellite pantry at my church a year and a half ago.

35 million people in the U.S. are hungry or don’t know where their next meal is coming from, and 13 million of them are children. If another country

--

--

Michelle Renee Kidwell
ILLUMINATION

Faith is the strength by which a shattered world shall emerge in the light: Helen Keller http://www.facebook.com/fansofMichellerkidwell