What’s This Clapping Nonsense All About?

My Two-Cents on Medium’s Clapping System and How I Use It

Ravyne Hawke
ILLUMINATION

--

For new readers and writers here at Medium, chances are you’ve come from a platform where one thumbs-up or like means you enjoyed what you’ve read.

However, did you know that here on Medium you get a 50-clap max?

You didn’t? Don’t worry. When I joined Medium in April of this year, I didn’t know about this either. Apparently it is a big deal. Personally, I’d like to do away with this whole clapping fiasco and go to something that is more universal, but that’s just me. I’ve never cared for systems that create dismay or unhealthy obsessions. And claps aren’t even used as an indicator for who gets paid (if you happen to be a Medium Paid Partnership member) —instead, the indicator is how long a person spends reading a piece of your work (this is the new system on Medium).

So if this clapping-business won’t make you money, what’s its true purpose? And why does it make or break some writers on Medium?

I’ve talked with several writers here on Medium who’ve expressed how depressed they are that their work gets so few claps. A few have even noted their desire to…

--

--

Ravyne Hawke
ILLUMINATION

Writing Coach, Poet, Fiction Writer, Essayist, Artist, Dreamer | “Enlightenment is when a wave realizes it is the Ocean” ~Thich Nhat Hanh