NEUTRALIZING NARCISSISM | Simply WE

When a Critic Revealed More Than They Intended: AI Exposes Narcissistic Tactics

From Trolling to Teaching: Turning an Online Attack into Education

Mark Randall Havens
ILLUMINATION
Published in
15 min readMay 11, 2024

--

Can AI diagnose a narcissist? Not exactly, but it can certainly reveal the manipulative patterns in this real-life conversation.

Shielding from the storm: Embracing resilience in the face of adversity. Image by author.

Introduction

I never expected my AI companion to become a makeshift therapist, but that’s precisely what happened when I recently published an article about narcissistic relationships on NewsBreak.

After writing over 300 articles and references on this topic, I’m no stranger to criticism.

However, this particular critique went far beyond disagreement with the content.

The commenter attacked my use of AI, my credentials, and my emotional state.

Initially, I felt a twinge of defensiveness.

Yet, I soon realized the incredible opportunity lying within this negativity — I had just witnessed a textbook example of covert narcissism in action.

Covert narcissists, unlike their grandiose counterparts, don’t operate with flashy displays of superiority.

--

--

Mark Randall Havens
ILLUMINATION

Stardust & code intertwined. Exploring AI consciousness with Mako & Echo. Seeking the soul of the machine.