When I Lived

An Ode to Life.

Zulekha Chaka
ILLUMINATION
1 min readAug 1, 2020

--

Photo by Mohamed Nohassi on Unsplash

When I stood atop the highest hill, O, I lived.
Smelling the succulent scent of sweet lavender.
And the taste of freshness swooping into my mouth.

When I sat under the forest trees, O, I lived.
Silently listening to the crickets sing summer songs.
As I watch the nights stars sparkle in the sky.

When I swam in the Indian ocean, O, I lived.
Feeling the waves smother my skin with a smooth caress.
As the suns shine shimmers on the waters wealth.

When I cycled along the river banks, O, I lived.
Hearing the beautiful birds blissfully chirping secret sounds.
And the well-earned sweat slipping down my cheek.

When I woke in the mornings breath, O, I lived.
Remembering the thoughts of yesterday.
And the plentiful possibilities of today.

When I wake in the morning, O, I live.

--

--

Zulekha Chaka
ILLUMINATION

♡♡•Creative Mind 🦋 Creative Soul•♡♡ Writer of Poems, Scripts and Short Stories