When I Met With An Accident

My accident taught me some great lessons like an obedient teacher

Gurpreet Dhariwal
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readMar 22, 2020

--

Picture by @drew_beamer

I started my career as a Process Assistant in one of the multinational companies based out of India. As I grew more professional and wiser in the professional spectrum, I came across many people from different backgrounds that made me learn a lot in terms of leadership, accountability, delegation of work and standing true to myself.

In 2016, while working with EXL as Assistant Manager- Migrations, I met with a serious accident on Greater Noida Express Highway. My sacrum bone was broken from three sides, and I was bed-ridden for two months. My doctor told me that I will be affected by paralysis and wouldn’t be able to walk ever in my life again.

Listening to such remarks was hurtful because, in my entire life, I never met with an accident on my own. This was due to a cab driver who was drunk and hit the cab in the divider. I didn’t lose hope. My broken right leg taught me a lot more than they teach you in schools and colleges.

I started hopping on a walker in one month with the guidance and support of my parents. In two months, I learned to sleep straight and take a bath sitting on the chair. My world didn’t end because, before this accident, I was a fitness freak. I did gym for almost five years and this accident…

--

--

Gurpreet Dhariwal
ILLUMINATION

Author of Four books. Domestic Violence Survivor, Domestic Violence Counsellor @BTSADV, Sketcher, Dog Lover, Poet. www.gurpreetdhariwal.com/