When No One Was There For Me, They Were

A look into being an introvert

Shareen Aqueel
ILLUMINATION
3 min readDec 23, 2023

--

Photo by Abigail on Unsplash

I have no doubt in saying that I have always been a shy, quiet, introverted girl who, most of the time doesn’t want to but sometimes, can’t seem to make friends, not on the first meeting at least and even after the first meeting, it takes me some time to make friends. So, feeling lonely in places, especially new places is a routine for me.

If I’m being honest, I’m really not a people person which, I think is absolutely okay. I don’t get why people get so offended if I accept something like this in front of them. I mean, doesn’t everyone have the right to like and dislike whatever they want? but eh, I don’t really care about these people, if anything, they only give me another reason to not be a people person. I’m sure y’all must be wondering, Whose person are you, then? Oh, I have the perfect answer for that. Books! I’m a book person! Books are literally the only thing I genuinely care about. I mean except for my family and friends, the very few ones I have managed to make up till now.

Books are what keep me sane, even if they didn’t, I’d still love them. Why? Because books were there for me when no one else was.

Books were there for me when I wanted them to be and when I didn’t want them to be. Unlike human beings, who, when by some mistake see you angry or showing any kind of emotion other than happiness run away from you like you have a virus or something, but books? Books were and will always be there for me.

Books were there for me on the first day of college when I felt like a stranger, when I was a stranger and had no way of spending my free time. Small talk? Um no. Remember, I’m an introvert? So yep, books were there for me whenever I felt uncomfortable in someone’s presence or whenever I wanted to avoid making small talk with someone.

Books were there for me when I was tired of life and challenges and two-faced people. When I had nothing to do but sigh, thinking of all the ups and downs, repeatedly. So, yes, books were there for me when I just wanted to wander off in the air and fly and sing and talk without flying and singing and talking. Books took me to the world no one knew I was living in, at that moment. To a world where all my problems and difficulties disappear, leaving only quiet smiles and dances, in red dresses under the moonlight.

Books were there for me when I was bored and when I had nothing to do except stare at the walls. Books were there for me when I couldn’t sleep and when I woke up. When I needed help, when I wanted information, no one in this world could give. Books were there for me in my good times, in my bad times, in between them and before them. Books were and will always be there for me. Like a best friend. Like a first love.

--

--

Shareen Aqueel
ILLUMINATION

Avid reader with a knack for writing about food, books, movies & traveling.