When Self Care Does Not Matter-Why You Should Avoid It At All Costs And Do This Instead

Stephanie A. James
ILLUMINATION
Published in
5 min readMar 26, 2024

--

Photo by Alisa Anton on Unsplash

The dried hot wax that was stuck to my hair at the temple of the left side of my head seemed like no mistake. I did not realize I had hot wax stuck to my hair until I looked in the mirror while in a public restroom. With wax stuck to my hair on the left side of my head, I had been walking around for at least an hour like this. Yes an hour!

I wished the woman that did my eyebrows would have mentioned this before I walked out of the spa, which was close to a nearby store that I later went to and found the discovery of wax in my hair. How can she let me step out like this?

There goes my self-care glow up!

The woman who did my eyebrows could at least told me that wax was in my hair instead of letting me go around looking like I had brown food or liquid in my hair. I do recall when I was at the spa and she was doing my eyebrows, she kept wiping the side of my head. Initially, I thought she was just trying to get my hair out of the way as she applied the wax and removed my brow hair. Then I had a fleeting thought that maybe a tiny bit of wax got in my hair. I thought if there was tad bit of wax then she got it out. But no, there was still wax in my hair and it was not just a tad. It was about an inch of visible dried was in my hair on the left side of…

--

--

Stephanie A. James
ILLUMINATION

https://www.stephaniealicia.com An avid reader, author, and spinach lover! Her work has been featured in Consumer’s Research and websites such as ehow.