When we know better, we do better, or do we!

Kelly Robinson
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readApr 20, 2022
Photo by Alexas Fotos: https://www.pexels.com/photo/make-this-world-better-6077406/

My favourite life philosophy is that I always aim to do better when I know better.

Do you have a life philosophy?

This philosophy has grown and evolved over my life and is something that I aim to do regularly. While I am a long way from perfect, I need to continue to learn.

Photo by Brett Jordan: https://www.pexels.com/photo/wood-typography-photography-luck-7416851/

Why should you continue to learn?

The most straightforward answer is that learning nourishes the mind.

I am not speaking just about professional learning; I am talking about personal education. Personal knowledge gives us the ability to stay relevant and be able to relate to a wide range of people.

Personal learning can teach us about other cultures, develop new skills, create new habits and understand our patterns.

We can develop an understanding of why we do what we do? Why do we say what we say? Why do we get into relationships with certain types of people and more?

We can answer these questions through personal learning, know better, and do better. Rather than continue to repeat our mistakes.

Mistakes of the past

In a previous article, I wrote about nature versus nurture and what intergenerational trauma can be passed through.

Rather than reaffirming the mistakes of the past, we all can make an effort to know better and to do better. This is done through personal learning and deciding not to repeat these mistakes.

Change your perspective

Were you raised with certain beliefs? Do those beliefs still serve you, or were they from a perspective you no longer agree with?

At school, how were you taught your country's history? Was this history taught correctly, or was it taught from a biased perspective?

As people, we all can decide for ourselves what will work for us in our lives. When we take the time to know better, we can take the time to do better.

Not doing better

By repeating the same mistakes repeatedly without taking the time to learn, we as humans never grow, and we remain in a state of perpetual mayhem.

If you actively choose not to do better when you know better, you are doing yourself a disservice but also everyone you know.

Inclusive language

Let's use the example of inclusive language as a great starting point. Inclusive language seeks to treat all people with respect, dignity, and impartiality.

I could provide many examples, but this one below I find as an Australian very significant. Now that I know better, I need to do better and refer to First Nations Australians correctly.

  • Aboriginals should be First Nations Australians.

When we think about disability, it is better to refer to ‘a person with a disability’ rather than ‘a disabled person’.

What other examples can you think of?

Ongoing learning

The older you get the more opportunity you have to not just be stuck in your ways. No one wants to become that grumpy old person do they!

As the saying goes, you are not a tree and you don’t have to stay where you were planted. Seek new and unbiased knowledge.

Use every opportunity you have to discover a wider view of the world and the people in it.

When in doubt ask more questions.

Join Medium for unlimited reading or to earn money writing

If you enjoy reading my content, consider subscribing to my feed.

And if you are also a coffee lover, shout me one too.

Thanks, Kelly

--

--

Kelly Robinson
ILLUMINATION

Top Writer. I am passionate about small business, mental health, and much more. I hope you enjoy what I have to share.