SCBWI Daily Prompt Challenge

When You Accomplish What You Want To Do

What I learned from completing a 31-day challenge

Rasheed Hooda
ILLUMINATION
Published in
8 min readJun 8, 2020

--

In the early part of May, I noticed a few stories that were about a red door. It was the images that drew my attention. How often do you see a picture of a red door on several stories in one day? Fortunately, it was not the same picture.

I have ranted about how the same picture keeps showing up for different stories on Medium, urging writers to dig deeper on Unsplash, or use other sites to find images for their stories. I also shared a story by Remington Write that shows you how to use Google Images. An excellent resource, if you want to check it out, but I digress.

Then one day, a story about the Indian festival of the lights caught my eyes. Being from that part of the world, I was surprised to see that story because Diwali is celebrated in late October, not in early May. So I checked it out. That’s when I learned about the SCBWI prompts for the month of May. Saloni Joshi’s story about the festival of lights…

--

--

Rasheed Hooda
ILLUMINATION

Self-proclaimed weirdo. Jack of Many Trades, Master of Some. Author, Speaker, Photographer. He walked on Route 66 Chicago to L.A. https://ko-fi.com/misterweirdo