When You Have Nothing New to Write About, Do This…

Turn the old into new

Alicia Joy
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Austin Chan on Unsplash

When writing, I sometimes ask myself ‘Has someone written about this before?’

Then I chuckle. Of course, someone has.

Many people have written about the topic before, even I have.

That doesn’t stop me from writing about it again.

When you have moments like this, you shouldn’t stop yourself either. Here’s why:

  1. (The selfish reason): Writing is good for you. It’s good exercise for the brain, helps you clarify your thoughts, and sometimes you can even earn a penny or two from it.
  2. (The not-so-selfish reason): Someone needs to read your take on the topic, and from multiple angles. The more you write on one topic, the more nuanced your perspective.

Writing is good for you

Photo by Aurora K on Unsplash

Even if writing feels hard, well, especially if it feels hard, it’s good for you. It pushes you to clarify ideas, thoughts, and feelings. It’s impossible to write about something without getting clear on it.

--

--

Alicia Joy
ILLUMINATION

I'm an over-thinker. I also love going down rabbit holes. I write stories about topics that make me (over)think or musings from my rabbit-hole adventures.