“When you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it”

Fatima Irfan Goraya
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readAug 22, 2023

- King Melchizedek, The Alchemist.

Photo by Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

I was blinded all my entire life! I had always believed that only self-help books could provide us with the knowledge we needed to survive in our day to day lives. But I was wrong! How could I have missed this piece of art my entire life!

You already know which book I am talking about. Yes of course I am praising the legend of our hearts, Paulo Coelho’s best loved work, The Alchemist.

For those of you who read my blogs frequently, you already know how obsessed I am with thrillers. This book was a new genre for me, but safe to say that The Alchemist sky rocketed the reading slump I had been in for a few months. I don’t know a soul who has not appreciated this book.

The book is about a boy named Santiago, who after having a dream about some treasure in the Egyptian pyramids, embarks on a journey. Meanwhile he meets mentors, falls in love with the love of his life and most importantly learns deep lessons. The lessons are so deep that they cannot be understood by the mind, but can only be felt. He feels the essence of life and learns to understand the good and bad signs God reveals to give a peek of the future.

Paulo Coelho has the ability to pack books with spirituality, warmth and deep core lessons that cannot be expressed even in self-help books. The book had been lying on my table for a month and what a pity I did not read it at that time!

Over all I give it a 9.5/10. I think it is great for those who want to read non-fiction in a plot immersed with fiction at the same time. I will have to say The Alchemist is in the top 5 books I simply adore!

--

--

Fatima Irfan Goraya
ILLUMINATION

I am at that point in my life where I myself can't understand whether I am an extrovert or an introvert.