How I Dealt With My Family’s Different Love Language

The San B
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readJun 15, 2020

--

I am regularly asked questions like “Don’t you love us?”, “Don’t you want to spend time with us?” While I love my family unconditionally, I have a different way of expressing love than they do.

Photo by Ramiz Dedaković on Unsplash

I am called the “cat” of my family because I mostly stay inside my room: working, meditating, or writing. In their mind, I only come out to look for food and occasional cuddles, maybe a few back scratches if I’m the mood. And if they hug me even a minute longer than I anticipated or “allowed” them to, I start to twist my self in weird dimensions to slip out of there embrace. I might even yowl in frustration if not let loose soon from cuddles.

It’s not like I don’t love my family. In fact, I love them unconditionally. It’s just the way I show love is different. My love language for them is practically rooted in “acts of service”; such as looking for ways to help them monetarily, taking care of them when they fall sick, cooking a meal for one or all of them, or repairing something of importance to them.

My love language is unlike my sister’s, who is called the Labrador of the house because she’s always up for cuddles and kisses (her love language leans more toward “physical touch”). She even masterminded many of the family cuddle sessions that I am dragged into often.

--

--

The San B
ILLUMINATION

Self-Love Revolutionary| Writer| Researcher in my Day Job| @thesanb on Instagram and @thesabh on Twitter.