Which Would You Choose, Being Right Or Being Kind

If you must only choose one

James Boylan
ILLUMINATION

--

Be kind. It’s cool.
Photo by Ana Iherina: https://www.pexels.com/photo/be-kind-neon-signage-on-a-brick-wall-13229766/

It seems like there are very few topics that people can discuss without someone getting very agitated because one is “right” which makes the other automatically “wrong.”

This is especially true when the topic is politics or religion. Political differences have split families and wars have been fought over religious differences.

There are many people who, when they believe that they are right each and every time, no matter the topic, are ready to fight to prove that they are. And there is more. Even if obviously wrong, they will argue vehemently and sometimes violently.

How do I know this? Because that was once I. If you ever wanted to know anything about anything, just ask me. I knew about it all. And, if it was something that was way out of my ballpark, in my mind I hit a home run every time with whatever I answered.

And, I was ready to back it up with whatever it took to let you know that I was right and you were wrong. Admitting ignorance of a topic or that I was wrong was out of the question.

Everything was black or white and there were no shades of gray. And, if I did what was surely wrong, I was quick to jump to my defense, no matter how ugly or out of place it was.

--

--

James Boylan
ILLUMINATION

"HI" Medium Top Writer Ideas. Publisher Spiritualityandrecovery. 47+ yrs sober introduced me to Spirituality.