Black Lives Matter

White Privilege and #blacklivesmatter

A white man’s thoughts on BLM from 2016 (not much has changed)

John Ross
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readJun 10, 2020

--

Photo Courtesy of Author

I wasn’t going to say anything about the racial tension in our society. How could I? I’m a white, privileged American.

At the same time…

How could I not? I’m a white, privileged American.

With each shot fired and each individual killed, and these being witnessed over social media, my greatest realization is, “Oh my God, this has been happening since the beginning and I am just now seeing it played out (due to social media).”

I do hesitate to speak. Because I’m not fully versed…

At the same time, I speak, because we must. We speak because, when injustices take place, our responsibility is to speak.

Even dating back to thousands of years ago, we see injustices done to orphans and widows and we see a Scriptural plea to come to their aid, to speak out on behalf of them. To stand with the oppressed.

It is completely justified to speak out on behalf of a population being subject to injustice. We cry out on behalf of unborn children (and its completely justified), we cry out on behalf of the orphan and widow (and its completely justified) and we cry…

--

--

John Ross
ILLUMINATION

Writing stories, working in the NBA, & learning each day how to better love my neighbor — www.hellojohnwross.com