Who Are You Missing?

Coronavirus Side-Effects

Gurpreet Dhariwal
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readApr 20, 2020

--

https://pixabay.com/users/pixel2013-2364555/

This question came as a bolt-on my door. I tell you why? Starting from 2013 until 2018, my parents traveled thrice to New Zealand where my brother lives with his wife and two sons. My parents are not travelers but they have traveled to various places more than what I realized after I interacted with my friends and their parents.

I am very fortunate that this year they didn’t travel abroad. My dad is 68 years old and my mother has turned 60 in Jan 2020. I don’t think so this would have been a great time for them to be with my brother’s family as living in India means getting your hands on many things be it groceries, medical treatment, and interactions with neighbors.

They equally thank their stars too to be with me here. Having said that, I cannot imagine the pain of people who are living apart from their loved ones at this phase of life. I am a very strong person but that doesn’t mean I don’t have emotions. I can go on living alone as I am habitual to it but I am sure many get on their knees with merely a thought of it.

No, I am not wishing any kind of “Be Strong” messages for them. We all have our journey. God knows when to break us and fix us again. We cannot do that because we are not God.

--

--

Gurpreet Dhariwal
ILLUMINATION

Author of Four books. Domestic Violence Survivor, Domestic Violence Advocate @BTSADV, Sketcher, Dog Lover, Poet. www.gurpreetdhariwal.com/