Why a New Career Won’t Be a Quick Fix to Your Life — Read this first

Ilma Andrade
ILLUMINATION
Published in
8 min readDec 26, 2022

--

Picture by Darina Belonogova

This article is divided into 3 parts, first I tell my experience, then comes the takeaways, which are my learnings and the things that you can learn from my experience, and I finish with a reflection.

Around 2021 and 2022 some careers such as UX Designer, Programmer, or Data Analyst became almost a trend.

And I am not saying it is a bad thing, but before jumping into a new field, it is important to analyze the reasons behind picking up this new path.

I am saying all of that because once in my life I picked a career based on things that turned out to not work out.

When I was a kid, just like many kids, I wanted to be a veterinarian, but it was a very expensive course and wasn't in demand in the place where I was living.

So, I grew up a bit more and found out that if you are an archeologist, you can travel a lot, and go around many countries, of course, it depends on which type of professional, but still.

At that point, I was already in high school, so I started going to libraries to learn about it.

I turned 18 and got approved to work for the government, in my country you can work in public services by passing an exam. So, I studied for the exam and got the job.

--

--

Ilma Andrade
ILLUMINATION

3 x Top Writer - UX Designer - Business and Art - World Traveler and Beach lover